My phirst essay ;)

COMPETITION AND EVENTS

In India easiest way of being termed as a social man is joining the Orkut network, all said and done one aspiring potential entrepreneur just cannot ignore the power of networking and I am no different. “A man who competes with himself will have no rivals”, this quote appears on my profile on almost every week, the third time it appeared my default settings forced my imagination for little introspection.

The day I passed the IBS CHANDIGARH’s entrance gate i made a promise to myself, I must become the best finance manager, but slowly and gradually I realized that this is not really my cup of tea so here I was in the Marketing section studying all the subjects which I used to make fun of and the promise, Gimme a break!!

If you ask me the reason, I would try to mould it in a way that suits your ears; true marketer would always do this come what may!! But the reason is the competition; I’ve always believed that there are two kinds of competition that drives you. One pushes you to heights and the other one pulls you down. I call it the push and the pull theory of competition.

The PUSH theory would always motivate you to work smarter and harder, one who is smart should be smart enough to realize this opportunity and would work hard to push himself to the limits, in my case I had so many opportunities ibsrocks.com was one opportunity that exposed me to my ever favorite online marketing and soon i was exposed to competitions, it was the competition to deliver the best articles on the forum and to sustain against the other forums. The portal really gave an insight as to how one must market himself the number of thanked post earned respect and that gave me an edge in my class and here I was in competition with participants from all other IBS centers. This ibsrocks.com experience also helped me to make good networks and to participate in a global online marketing competition hosted by Google.

Google chapter was another push Theory which made me test my marketing skills. You name a B-School and it is there in the list of competitors. That really daunted my mind for many weeks and I made sure that even if I don’t win I make name for my University, when big names are involved one is bound to get conscious however, at the end of the competition I realized a sense of satisfaction as our Ad campaign was rated as a good campaign and we were ranked close to 400th out of 1600 teams that participated.

The PULL theory will ask you to either back out or leave the things in between and this I experienced when i joined IBS Chandigarh as a potential Finance manager and I’ll walk out as Analyst in Marketing research in India’s largest KPO Evalueserve. So, summing it up in one sentence I would say that competing with oneself is necessary but that that doesn’t help you to track your performance, so keep a check on you as well as your closest competitor.

Vikas Goel

IBS-CHD 2009

Leave a comment